Delighted for Padma Shri recognition of this old, risked art: Chindu Yakshaganam performer Gaddam Sammaiah

the reader wall logo
The Reader Wall Logo
The Reader Wall Google News

Chindu Yakshaganam Theatre Artist Gaddam Sammaiah Honoured with Padma Shri

Sourced from Reader Wall, Telangana’s own, Gaddam Sammaiah, who is a renowned practitioner of the Chindu Yakshaganam theatrical art form, has openly declared his joy of being a recipient of the esteemed Padma Shri honour.

Preservation of an Ancient Artform

Ecstatic, Sammaiah shared, “I am profoundly grateful to be receiving such recognition for our ancient and, sadly, declining art form. This wouldn’t have been possible without the assistance of the Telangana’s Director of Culture Department, Union Minister G. Kishan Reddy, and our Government”. He further added that he has dedicated 18 years to mastering this craft, during which he has been the proud winner of numerous accolades as well.

The Chindu Yakshaganam is, without a doubt, a significant part of Telangana culture and history. This immersive artform seamlessly fuses dance, dialogue, melody, unique costuming, makeup, and stage techniques, presenting a visual spectacle for audiences to enjoy.

Padma Honour Bestowed

The commendable Padma Shri was awarded to Sammaiah on Republic Day, an event of national pride. This news was shared by the Home Ministry on Thursday, stating that along with Sammaiah, five other notable individuals will be receiving the Padma Vibhushan, seventeen the Padma Bhushan, and a whopping 110 the Padma Shri awards.

Being the highest civilian awards in the country, the Padma Awards are offered in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri. These honors are bestowed upon deserving individuals from various fields and sectors – art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, and civil service.

Award Distinctions

The ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is given for exceptional and distinguished service; the ‘Padma Bhushan’ for notable service of a high order and the ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service within any field. These awards are officially announced yearly on Republic Day and handed out by the President of India at ceremonial functions typically taking place at Rashtrapati Bhawan around March or April.

The list of awardees this year comprises 30 women, along with eight individuals who are classified as foreigners, NRIs, PIOs, OCIs, along with 9 posthumous awardees, reports Reader Wall.


Embark on a literary journey with Glen, an avid explorer and wordsmith. Through his captivating travel narratives, Glen transports readers to distant lands, weaving tales of cultural discovery and breathtaking landscapes. Immerse yourself in his vivid storytelling on ReaderWall, as he shares the magic of exploration and the profound connections forged on the way.