“An accolade, acknowledgement of homoeopathy”: Dr RS Pareek on receiving Padma Shri nomination

the reader wall logo
The Reader Wall Logo
The Reader Wall Google News

A Recent Homoeopathy Awardee Honoured with a Padma Shri

News come from the source of Reader Wall that Dr. RS Pareek, a distinguished practitioner in the field of homoeopathy from Agra, Uttar Pradesh, expressed his gratitude for being awarded Padma Shri. He described the award as not only an honour to him, but a recognition of the medical practice he represents.

Dr. RS Pareek’s Gratitude and Thoughts

In his conversation with our correspondent, Dr. Pareek highlighted, “Apart from being a prestigious national award, the Padma Shri is a recognition of the practice of homoeopathy.” He reminisced about how homoeopathy was not a renowned field during his earlier days, even forcing him to go abroad for his studies. “There was a period when I went to England and Germany to study, and now medical practitioners from England, Germany, and America come to me to study,” he added.

Padma Awardees 2021

The Padma Awardee list this year boasts 132 names, including two duo cases where the award is counted as one. The list includes awards across three categories: five Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan, and 110 Padma Shri Awards.

  • Around 30 of the awardees are women.
  • It also includes eight persons from the categories of foreign non-resident Indian (NRI), person of Indian origin (PIO), overseas citizenship of India (OCI).
  • There are also nine posthumous awardees.

About the Padma Awards

The Padma Awards, instituted in 1954, are among the highest civilian honours of India, announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. They are presented in three different categories, namely Padma Vibhushan, for exceptional and distinguished service, Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of higher order, and Padma Shri for distinguished service. The awards aim to recognise achievements across all fields of activities or disciplines involving an element of public service.

The selection of the Padma Awardees is based on the recommendations of the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. The committee comprises of the Cabinet Secretary, the Home Secretary, the Secretary to the President, and four to six eminent persons. All recommendations are reviewed and approved by both the Prime Minister and the President of India.

Past Year’s Awardees

In the preceding year, the government had distributed 106 Padma Awards, which included three duo cases. The list composed of six Padma Vibhushans, nine Padma Bhushans, and 91 Padma Shri Awards. Out of the total recipients, 19 were women, two were from the foreigners: NRI, PIO, OCI category, and seven were posthumous awardees.


Embark on a literary journey with Glen, an avid explorer and wordsmith. Through his captivating travel narratives, Glen transports readers to distant lands, weaving tales of cultural discovery and breathtaking landscapes. Immerse yourself in his vivid storytelling on ReaderWall, as he shares the magic of exploration and the profound connections forged on the way.