Nitish Kumar administration relocates above 100 officials amidst Bihar unpredictability

The Reader Wall Google News

Bihar Government Executes Major Official Transfer

In a recent complete administrative reshuffle, the Bihar administration disclosed the transfer of 22 officers from the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), 79 from the Indian Police Service (IPS), and 45 from the Bihar Administrative Service (BAS), according to insider reports of Reader Wall. The series of transfers included five District Magistrates (DMs) and 17 Superintendents of Police (SPs).

Details of Transferred Officers

Among the transferred officers mentioned in our source, District Magistrate Chandrasekhar Singh of Patna, an IAS officer from the 2010 batch, has been appointed as Special Secretary in the Secretariat of Chief Minister as per the notification issued by the General Administrative Department. Singh was earlier highlighted in the news because of his correspondent dispute concerning the prohibition of schools due to the cold wave in Patna. As his replacement, Shirsat Kapil Ashok, a 2011-batch IAS officer who is currently the Inspector-General (prisons), has been brought to the charge.

New Appointments

Naval Kishor Choudhary, IAS officer of the 2013 batch, and the current DM of Gopalganj has been assigned the role of Bhagalpur’s new DM. Subrat Kumar Sen from Bhagalpur, also an IAS officer from the 2013 batch, takes over as the new DM of Muzaffarpur.

Additional Changes

  • Arvind Kumar Choudhary, 1995-batch IAS officer and the current principal secretary (finance), has been handed additional responsibilities as the principal secretary (rural development department).
  • Senthil K Kumar, a 1996-batch IAS officer and principal secretary of the home department, is taking over as the principal secretary of the planning department.
  • Safeena AN, a 1997-batch IAS officer and principal secretary of the minorities welfare department, has been allocated as a member of the revenue board.

Shuffling in Police Service

In addition to the IAS officers, the home department’s notification also confirmed the transfers of 79 IPS officers, including 17 SPs, across different Bihar districts.

Sushil Mansingh Khopde, a 1995-batch IPS officer and current additional director general (operations) of the Special Task Force (STF), is now the ADG (Prohibition). Deepak Ranjan, a 2012-batch IPS officer formerly posted as SP Jehanabad, has been shifted as the Commandant (Bihar Special Armed Police, Bodh Gaya). Several other significant changes in terms of SP to commandant transfers were reported as well.

Routine Structural Changes

These current transfers followed the reassignment of 29 senior IAS officers on January 23, as part of a significant bureaucratic reshuffle. A high-ranking official from the GAD noted that these reassignments are part of a routine administrative procedure.

John Kerry

John Kerry, a distinguished author in the realm of science, explores the intricate intersections of environmental policy and scientific advancements. With an insightful pen, he navigates complex issues, offering readers a profound understanding of the crucial role science plays in shaping sustainable futures. Dive into Kerry's work on ReaderWall to embark on a journey through the nexus of science and policy.